South Africa Abolishes Six Traditional Monarchies

July 30 - South African President Jacob Zuma declared the abolition of six of the 13 kingdoms of South upon the death of their rulers. 

The announcement was made last July 29, citing that those kingdoms were established during apartheid in a bid of the white-led government to gain support from the petty sovereigns.

These kingdoms are: the Batlokwa ba Mota,  Bakwena baMopeli, AmaRharhabe. Amampondo ase-Nyandeni, and Ndzundza Mabhoko. Meanwhile, the king of AbaThembu has died recently, thus, the monarchy is expected to end shortly.

Beyond the Miracle: Inside the New South Africa J.M. Coetzee: South Africa and the Politics of Writing South Africa by TIME Magazine. Size 11.00 X 14.00 Art Poster Print Politics in South Africa: From Mandela to Mbeki


Popular Posts